You will be…

Jesus answered him, “Those who love me will keep my word, and my Father will love them, and we will come to them and make our home with them. Whoever does not love me does not keep my words; and the word that you hear is not mine, but is from the Father who sent me. “I have said these things to you while I am still with you. But the Advocate, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, will teach you everything, and remind you of all that I have said to you. Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled, and do not let them be afraid. (John 14:23-27, NRSV)

As I read this text I was struck by the last line, and I heard Luke Skywalker say to Yoda, “I am not afraid.”

We take heart in our lives and look at life through rose colored glasses sometimes. We think there is nothing out there to fear. We get caught up in our own ability to do anything and we do not see the dangers.

But when we let go and allow the Paraclete, the Advocate, the Holy Spirit, have her rightful place in our lives, we can be led to places that will scare the beejebez out of us.

That is what happened to Luke, when he went to the tree where the dark side of the force dwelt. Yoda said they only thing in there is what you take with you. Kind of like Jesus knows us all and knows the ability we have to bring ourselves down and to setup ourselves in ways we shouldn’t… Only what we take with us…

“I am not afraid,” Luke said. “You will be… You will be.” Yoda responded. And we will be if we let go and let God have His way, but we have no reason to.

Because when the Spirit is in control, everything will work, and even though we can not tell how or why, it is all in the hands of the one who set this crazy place into it’s spin, and it is being done the way He set it out to happen.

So let go and allow the Spirit to dwell in you and through you and let go, and have no fear!

Published by asacredrebel

Lions tamed Dragons slain Leaders equipped Disciples trained Jedi Christian Living the Gospel out loud!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.