Where?

Posted: 2017/05/23 in Biblical, Devotional, Discipleship, Easter
Tags: , , , , ,

But now I am going to him who sent me; yet none of you asks me, ‘Where are you going?’ But because I have said these things to you, sorrow has filled your hearts. Nevertheless I tell you the truth: it is to your advantage that I go away, for if I do not go away, the Advocate will not come to you; but if I go, I will send him to you. And when he comes, he will prove the world wrong about sin and righteousness and judgment: about sin, because they do not believe in me; about righteousness, because I am going to the Father and you will see me no longer; about judgment, because the ruler of this world has been condemned. “I still have many things to say to you, but you cannot bear them now. When the Spirit of truth comes, he will guide you into all the truth; for he will not speak on his own, but will speak whatever he hears, and he will declare to you the things that are to come. He will glorify me, because he will take what is mine and declare it to you. All that the Father has is mine. For this reason I said that he will take what is mine and declare it to you. “A little while, and you will no longer see me, and again a little while, and you will see me.” (John 16:5-16, NRSV)

Jesus told the disciples He was leaving, but none of them asked Him where he was going? Why?

Did they finally get something, or were they afraid to ask?

Afraid of where it would be?

Afraid He would want them to go with Him? (Well He did say He was leaving them and the Fathe was sending the Advocate (See John 14:15-31))

They might have finally gotten it. But they don’t ask, and they are sad He is leaving, but as is stated in John 14:15-31 they should be happy, because He is going to the Father and if he goes to the Father He will send the Advocate.

So be happy that Jesus came and left to be with the Father again. Because we can still see Him through the Advocate and His body. He is still here, and we can live with Him forever.

And soon we will be with Him fully again!

Leave a Reply

