RSS

Lead me

25 Feb

170225Teach me, O LORD, the way of your statutes, and I will observe it to the end. Give me understanding, that I may keep your law and observe it with my whole heart. Lead me in the path of your commandments, for I delight in it. Turn my heart to your decrees, and not to selfish gain. Turn my eyes from looking at vanities; give me life in your ways. Confirm to your servant your promise, which is for those who fear you. Turn away the disgrace that I dread, for your ordinances are good. See, I have longed for your precepts; in your righteousness give me life. (Psalm 119:33-40, NRSV)

This section of Psalm 119 reminded me of the hymn Lead Me, Guide Me and I do not think I could expound on this better than that hymn, so here is the text of the hymn.

Lead Me, Guide Me

Lead me oh Lord, won’t you lead me
I am tired and I need Thy strength and power
To guide me over my darkest hour
For just open my eyes that I may see
Lead me oh Lord, won’t you lead me

Lead me, guide me along the way
For if you lead me I cannot stray
Or just open my eyes that I may see
Lead me oh Lord, won’t you lead me
I am lost if you take your hand from me
I am blind without try light to see

Lord just always let me Thy servant be
Lead me oh Lord, won’t you lead me
Lead me, guide me along the way
For if you lead me I cannot stray

Lord just open my eyes that I may see
Lead me oh Lord, won’t you lead me

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
