RSS

What is required?

31 Jan

170131Hear what the LORD says: Rise, plead your case before the mountains, and let the hills hear your voice. Hear, you mountains, the controversy of the LORD, and you enduring foundations of the earth; for the LORD has a controversy with his people, and he will contend with Israel. “O my people, what have I done to you? In what have I wearied you? Answer me! For I brought you up from the land of Egypt, and redeemed you from the house of slavery; and I sent before you Moses, Aaron, and Miriam. O my people, remember now what King Balak of Moab devised, what Balaam son of Beor answered him, and what happened from Shittim to Gilgal, that you may know the saving acts of the LORD.” “With what shall I come before the LORD, and bow myself before God on high Shall I come before him with burnt offerings, with calves a year old? Will the LORD be pleased with thousands of rams, with ten thousands of rivers of oil? Shall I give my firstborn for my transgression, the fruit of my body for the sin of my soul?” He has told you, O mortal, what is good; and what does the LORD require of you but to do justice, and to love kindness, and to walk humbly with your God? (Micah 6:1-8, NRSV)

This is a court case. The Lord is asking the Israelites what their beef is. Bring your case before the mountains. But God says what have I done that you would turn against me?

I know what I have done, I freed you from slavery. I sent you messengers, like Moses, Aaron, and Miriam. I delivered you from Kings and their prophets.

And what can the people do to please God, what offering is enough, thousands of rams? Ten thousand rivers of oil? The firstborn? (Which God gives for them!)

No none of these are enough. But the law is clear what is required by God:

Do Justice
Love Kindness
Walk deliberately with God!

We need to choose to do things justly. We need to make sure justice is done even if it means we do not get what we want.

We need to love being kind and always show kindness to everyone.

And we need to walk intentionally or deliberately with God. This is a choice we make to follow where God is leading us.

Even when this means we are pushed out of our comfort zone and things do not go the way we want them or expect them to. We need to follow where God is leading us.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
