RSS

Election 2016

09 Nov

Manifest Complexity

I want to vote for someone who has been poor.
Someone who has searched for public assistance.
Someone who has come into a church door asking for help.
Someone who has stood at an intersection with a sign that is a plea for survival.

I want to vote for someone who is heartbroken.
Someone who’s son was murdered.
Someone who’s friend was killed for wearing a hoodie.
Someone who’s loved one became a hashtag.

I want to vote for someone who never wanted their name on the ballot.
Someone who’s name was spoken by others but never by themselves.

I want to vote for someone who has lived off food stamps.
Someone who has showed up at a church food pantry.
Someone who has traded medicine for food.

I want to vote for someone who lives grace.
Someone who speaks unity when they have been victimized by division.
Someone who…

View original post 99 more words

 
4 Comments

Posted by on 2016/11/09 in Thoughts and Wonderings

 

4 responses to “Election 2016

  1. Outrunning my demons

    2016/11/09 at 19:24

    With all due respect, I wouldn’t want to vote for someone who begged for money on the side of the road. The Bible also says in 1 Timothy 3 to have elders that are able to manage their families and have a good reputation. I believe that holds true so much more for someone leading our country and not just our church. I would not hold someone in esteem as my leader if they had no ability to manage their own finances and begged others for money. Just a thought…I know how hard it seems to find a leader in this election that holds the high standards of leadership that are desirable. That is why we need to trust God’s guidance even more over earthly leaders.

     
    • asacredrebel

      2016/11/09 at 19:34

      I shared this because I thought the concept of someone understanding the systems is who I would want for a leader. And that is true. I have used the system, and know the hassles of paperwork and jumping through hoops and getting all the ts crossed and i-s dotted. For someone who has never done that they have no idea. I think it makes me a better leader. And that had nothing to do with being a good manager, it had all to do with not having enough resources and many of us are 1 pay check away from that.

      But I also see your point. and understand where you are coming from.

       
      • Outrunning my demons

        2016/11/09 at 20:24

        That’s very true. A lot of politicians have absolutely no clue about what a majority of Americans struggle with day to day. I understand what you are saying. Wouldn’t that be the day when we have a leader that understands.

         
      • asacredrebel

        2016/11/09 at 20:46

        Yes it will!

         

Leave a Reply

 
