RSS

contentment

30 Sep

160930I rejoice in the Lord greatly that now at last you have revived your concern for me; indeed, you were concerned for me, but had no opportunity to show it. Not that I am referring to being in need; for I have learned to be content with whatever I have. I know what it is to have little, and I know what it is to have plenty. In any and all circumstances I have learned the secret of being well-fed and of going hungry, of having plenty and of being in need. I can do all things through him who strengthens me. (Philippians 4:10-13, NRSV)

One of the most overused and wrongly quoted scriptures.

God gives us the ability to do everything through His strength and life that He gives to us when we rest in Him and take our contentment from Him. Not the ability to jump higher, or run faster, or catch a ball better.

When we take our happiness and contentment in life from Christ, then we will have strength to endure whatever may come our way.

Jesus will be with us when we have more than what we need, and when we don’t know where our next meal is coming from, and in that we can be content.

That is the secret to life, living in the strength God gives us.

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One response to “contentment

  1. Ann Monarch

    2016/09/30 at 08:59

    Amen and Amen over and over! God is my peace and my strength!

     

Leave a Reply

 
