where is your trust

Posted: 2016/09/21 in Biblical, Devotional, Discipleship, Pentecost
Tags: , , , , ,

160921For God alone my soul waits in silence; from him comes my salvation. He alone is my rock and my salvation, my fortress; I shall never be shaken. How long will you assail a person, will you batter your victim, all of you, as you would a leaning wall, a tottering fence?  Their only plan is to bring down a person of prominence. They take pleasure in falsehood; they bless with their mouths, but inwardly they curse.  For God alone my soul waits in silence, for my hope is from him.  He alone is my rock and my salvation, my fortress; I shall not be shaken.  On God rests my deliverance and my honor; my mighty rock, my refuge is in God. Trust in him at all times, O people; pour out your heart before him; God is a refuge for us.  Those of low estate are but a breath, those of high estate are a delusion; in the balances they go up; they are together lighter than a breath.  Put no confidence in extortion, and set no vain hopes on robbery; if riches increase, do not set your heart on them. Once God has spoken; twice have I heard this: that power belongs to God,  and steadfast love belongs to you, O Lord. For you repay to all according to their work. (Psalm 62, NRSV)

It is not always easy to trust in other people. Sometimes trust takes years to build and seconds to destroy. But honestly look at your life and see where is your trust.

Who or what do you trust?

What do you rely on for your life?

If you’ve never had to worry about how a bill was going to be paid, or how a need was going to be met, you may rely or trust in your own abilities to make sure life goes smoothly. You could also say the same if you have overcome great obstacles to pay a bill or meet a need. You can rely on yourself to buckle down and get the job done.

But really where is the trust?

For me, it is in God. God is the rock that keeps me moving forward.

My trust is in God, because I know that God will never leave me nor forsake me. I will be safe in His hands, not that there will be no trouble in my life, but God will always be there to walk with me through it.

So where is your trust?

Leave a Reply

