who can stay?

Posted: 2016/09/10 in Biblical, Devotional, Discipleship, Pentecost
Tags: , , , , , , ,

160910I will sing of loyalty and of justice; to you, O LORD, I will sing.  I will study the way that is blameless. When shall I attain it? I will walk with integrity of heart within my house; I will not set before my eyes anything that is base. I hate the work of those who fall away; it shall not cling to me. Perverseness of heart shall be far from me; I will know nothing of evil. One who secretly slanders a neighbor I will destroy. A haughty look and an arrogant heart I will not tolerate. I will look with favor on the faithful in the land, so that they may live with me; whoever walks in the way that is blameless shall minister to me. No one who practices deceit shall remain in my house; no one who utters lies shall continue in my presence. Morning by morning I will destroy all the wicked in the land, cutting off all evildoers from the city of the LORD. (Psalm 101, NRSV)

This psalm of David is an interesting one…

We all can attest with David of times when we sing loyalty and we sing of justice to God, for we are moved by His wonderful blessings to be joyful in our lives. Ok, all of us may not sing, but we will be joy-filled and lift that to God.

But then David writes, “One who secretly slanders a neighbor I will destroy. A haughty look and an arrogant heart I will not tolerate.” Which made me wonder who could actually stay in this house?

For one David could not, because of a little thing that happened with Bathsheba. That seems pretty slanderous of Uriah and arrogant of David and this is only one incident recorded about David. I am truly thankful my life events are not recorded like this for everyone to read and learn how to follow God.

But isn’t that what is hopeful about this?

You see David, even in his brokenness, was accepted by God. And in that we have the power and the ability to lean on God and to know that He will accept us just as he accepted David.

So know it is not based upon your past or your future, but on God, and that is who gets to decide who can stay.

Leave a Reply

