Cock crows

Posted: 2016/05/06 in Biblical, Devotional, Discipleship, Easter
Tags: , , , ,

Simon Peter said to him, “Lord, where are you going?” Jesus answered, “Where I am going, you cannot follow me now; but you will follow afterward.”  Peter said to him, “Lord, why can I not follow you now? I will lay down my life for you.”  Jesus answered, “Will you lay down your life for me? Very truly, I tell you, before the cock crows, you will have denied me three times. (John 13:36-38, NRSV)

I will do anything for love, but I won’t do that…

Don’t know why those lyrics popped in my mind. But Peter seems to be intent on being with Jesus, and when Jesus tells him he will deny Jesus 3 times, I wonder what went through Peter’s mind.

We all think we would follow Jesus to the ends of the earth, but would we?

Jesus asks us to follow and to trust and that is hard. Peter in the face of death denied he knew Jesus, 3 times.

Would you say you know Jesus if it meant your life?

Do you say you know Jesus even when it doesn’t?

Leave a Reply

