holy-spirit“And I tell you, everyone who acknowledges me before others, the Son of Man also will acknowledge before the angels of God;  but whoever denies me before others will be denied before the angels of God.  And everyone who speaks a word against the Son of Man will be forgiven; but whoever blasphemes against the Holy Spirit will not be forgiven. When they bring you before the synagogues, the rulers, and the authorities, do not worry about how you are to defend yourselves or what you are to say;  for the Holy Spirit will teach you at that very hour what you ought to say.” (Luke 12:8-12, NRSV)

The only unforgivable sin is not speaking against Jesus or using God’s name in vain.

It isn’t even one of the 10 Commandments!

It is blaspheming the Holy Spirit.

So what does that mean?

To know what it means to blaspheme the Holy Spirit, we need to know what blaspheme means, and according to Merriam-Webster online blaspheme means “to talk about God or religion in a way that does not show respect”. So to talk about the Holy Spirit in a way that doesn’t show respect.

Ok, so what does that mean?

To say the Holy Spirit doesn’t have a place in your life? Or the Holy Spirit isn’t a part of God?

I am really not sure what it means to blaspheme the Holy Spirit.

I believe the Holy Spirit drives my life, even when I don’t understand it. I believe that the Spirit is God, even when I can’t understand it.

I can’t understand the Spirit at all, but I believe the Spirit is an integral part of my life.

So what is the unforgivable sin?

Leave a Reply

