RSS

mourning into dancing

13 Apr

I will extol you, O LORD, for you have drawn me up, and did not let my foes rejoice over me. O LORD my God, I cried to you for help, and you have healed me. O LORD, you brought up my soul from Sheol, restored me to life from among those gone down to the Pit. Sing praises to the LORD, O you his faithful ones, and give thanks to his holy name. For his anger is but for a moment; his favor is for a lifetime. Weeping may linger for the night, but joy comes with the morning. As for me, I said in my prosperity, “I shall never be moved.” By your favor, O LORD, you had established me as a strong mountain; you hid your face; I was dismayed. To you, O LORD, I cried, and to the LORD I made supplication: “What profit is there in my death, if I go down to the Pit? Will the dust praise you? Will it tell of your faithfulness? Hear, O LORD, and be gracious to me! O LORD, be my helper!” You have turned my mourning into dancing; you have taken off my sackcloth and clothed me with joy, so that my soul may praise you and not be silent. O LORD my God, I will give thanks to you forever. (Psalm 30, NRSV)

I struggle with this thought today.That our mourning will turn to dancing. Ok maybe not the thought, because at some point all mourning will turn to dancing.

That our mourning will turn to dancing.Ok maybe not the thought, because at some point all mourning will turn to dancing.

Ok maybe not the thought, because at some point all mourning will turn to dancing.

But our timing is off. We have become an instant gratification society, and when I read our mourning will turn to dancing, it should happen as the psalm says, in the morning, with the rising of the sun. All my problems should go away with the rising of the sun. But we all know that doesn’t happen.

I agonize over a family who will never get over the loss of a child. Parents who will never again this side of the return of Jesus see their daughter run or laugh or cry.

I agonize over a family who had a cure for a young daughter, but then discover that it wasn’t a cure and the young woman must again go through a rough medical procedure.

Where is the dancing? How do we live with this?

The answer is with God. You see our mourning will be dancing, that is the promise. It might some with the rising sun, and it might take a lot longer, but it will happen. And we as believers have something to lean on, the mighty arm of our savior. He will always walk with us.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
