RSS

called

24 Mar

Earlier this month I turned 44, and in May I will celebrate the 10th anniversary of my graduation from the Lutheran Theological Seminary at Gettysburg. I didn’t figure out God was calling me to be a pastor until I was in my thirties. And still today I learn new things about my walk and calling with God. And that is one of the things I love helping people see is their calling, and how God is calling them.

Martin Luther said, “How is it possible that you are not called? You have always been in some state or situation; you have always been a husband or wife, or boy, or girl, or servant. Picture before you the humblest estate…Yea, if you had five heads and ten hands, even then you would be too weak for your tasks, so that you would never dare think of making a pilgrimage or doing any saintly work.” Each and every one of us is called and given a part in God’s Mission and Ministry. We are gifted, and made stewards of that gift, and all God asks is we use that gift for Him. We were all set apart at our baptisms, and made a member of the priesthood of all believers.

This is why I love camp and have been involved in camp in central PA, Ohio, Southwestern Texas, and here in East Central Wisconsin. All of our camps are different, but the same in that they are a place set apart, like each of us, there to help us live into our faith. So we go to the mountain top of camp, and find out place with God, it is only to send us back, filled with the Holy Spirit to be His hands and feet in a world that so desperately needs to see His love.

So live out your calling, child of God, and hear, “Well done good and faithful servant.”

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
