bear fruit

Posted: 2015/12/18 in Advent, Biblical, Devotional, Discipleship
Tags: , , , , ,

151218“I am the true vine, and my Father is the vinegrower. He removes every branch in me that bears no fruit. Every branch that bears fruit he prunes to make it bear more fruit. You have already been cleansed by the word that I have spoken to you. Abide in me as I abide in you. Just as the branch cannot bear fruit by itself unless it abides in the vine, neither can you unless you abide in me. I am the vine, you are the branches. Those who abide in me and I in them bear much fruit, because apart from me you can do nothing. Whoever does not abide in me is thrown away like a branch and withers; such branches are gathered, thrown into the fire, and burned. If you abide in me, and my words abide in you, ask for whatever you wish, and it will be done for you. My Father is glorified by this, that you bear much fruit and become my disciples.  (John 15:1-8, NRSV)

Somehow a bear carved into a watermelon is not what Jesus had in mind when He said, “My Father is glorified by this, that you bear much fruit and become my disciples.”

And bearing fruit does not mean bringing fruit to people. Well ok the literal meaning of bearing fruit is bringing it to people, but we are not talking about real fruit here.

Jesus is saying that you are so connected to Him and the Father that your life is flowing with their will and their deeds.

The vinegrower takes away the branches that do not do the will od the Father so that those branches that are doing His will will get the food.

And those branches that do do His will, He prunes and trims back so that they will produce all the more.

So live in Christ and allow Him and the Father to permeate your life.

Leave a Reply

