RSS

sinner!

28 Oct

We ourselves are Jews by birth and not Gentile sinners; yet we know that a person is justified not by the works of the law but through faith in Jesus Christ. And we have come to believe in Christ Jesus, so that we might be justified by faith in Christ, and not by doing the works of the law, because no one will be justified by the works of the law. But if, in our effort to be justified in Christ, we ourselves have been found to be sinners, is Christ then a servant of sin? Certainly not! But if I build up again the very things that I once tore down, then I demonstrate that I am a transgressor. For through the law I died to the law, so that I might live to God. I have been crucified with Christ; and it is no longer I who live, but it is Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. I do not nullify the grace of God; for if justification comes through the law, then Christ died for nothing. (Galatians 2:15-21, NRSV)

I love the way this passage starts, “We ourselves are Jews by birth and not Gentile sinners…”

We are fine the way we are and not like you thankfully!

Ha if only that were true!

You see we are all short of the glory of God as we are. We will not be able to stand by our own merits.

We will not be able to stand by our birth, our nation, our works, or anything!

We are justified by Christ and only by Christ.

the law merely helps us know what our sin is and helps us to know what is keeping us from being with God.

So do not think too highly of yourself, your works, or your birthright, but wholly and fully lean on the grace you receive from Christ.

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
