Where is your store?

Posted: 2015/10/13 in Biblical, Devotional, Discipleship, Pentecost, Stewardship
Tags: , , ,

“Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust consume and where thieves break in and steal; but store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust consumes and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also. “The eye is the lamp of the body. So, if your eye is healthy, your whole body will be full of light; but if your eye is unhealthy, your whole body will be full of darkness. If then the light in you is darkness, how great is the darkness! “No one can serve two masters; for a slave will either hate the one and love the other, or be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve God and wealth. (Matthew 6:19-24, NRSV)

Where do you store things?

Specifically where is your treasure?

You might say, “I don’t have any treasure!”

Ah but we all do have treasure. And that is what we put away and keep from the world.

It is that thing or things that control our heart.

I have been known to say in a sermon, “I can show you where your heart is if you will show me one thing. And that one thing is your checkbook…”

You see this passage says that we need to store our treasure in heaven, not here on earth because to many things will take it away from us.

And the part we all get backwards, that I will get my heart inline with God and then I will store my treasure there. Nope and that is not how it works. Like I said earlier, “I can show you where your heart is if you will show me one thing. And that one thing is your checkbook…” You show me your checkbook and I can tell you where you store your treasure.

So I wonder, where is your store?

 

Leave a Reply

