provoke

Posted: 2015/10/07 in Biblical, Devotional, Discipleship, Pentecost
Tags: ,

Children, obey your parents in the Lord, for this is right. “Honor your father and mother”—this is the first commandment with a promise: “so that it may be well with you and you may live long on the earth.” And, fathers, do not provoke your children to anger, but bring them up in the discipline and instruction of the Lord. (Ephesians 6:1-4, NRSV)

I know I am not the best parent in the world, because I mess up. I try to be a good and loving father and to raise my kids in a good way.

I do however provoke my children to anger. Sometimes even on purpose, and I admit that. Sometimes I am playing with them, and sometimes not.

So how do we raise children to be good citizen and to honor their parents. It is very difficult.

But we can not get hung up on being bad parents. Because we more than likely are just being hard on ourselves.

Because I can see in my children wonderful people who despite my provoking are becoming wonderful women, and will be a wonderful part of what is to be in God’s Kingdom.

Leave a Reply

