RSS

abundance of what?

20 Aug

Someone in the crowd said to him, “Teacher, tell my brother to divide the family inheritance with me.” But he said to him, “Friend, who set me to be a judge or arbitrator over you?”  And he said to them, “Take care! Be on your guard against all kinds of greed; for one’s life does not consist in the abundance of possessions.”  Then he told them a parable: “The land of a rich man produced abundantly.  And he thought to himself, ‘What should I do, for I have no place to store my crops?’ Then he said, ‘I will do this: I will pull down my barns and build larger ones, and there I will store all my grain and my goods. And I will say to my soul, ‘Soul, you have ample goods laid up for many years; relax, eat, drink, be merry.’ But God said to him, ‘You fool! This very night your life is being demanded of you. And the things you have prepared, whose will they be?’ So it is with those who store up treasures for themselves but are not rich toward God.” (Luke 12:13-21, NRSV)

I always found this verse to be a bit humorous…

The man asked Jesus to tell his brother to divide the family inheritance with him, which leads to questions about their father and dynamics of the family, which may not be funny, but I always find Jesus answer a bit humorous, “Friend, who set me to be a judge or arbitrator over you?”

The gospels seem to make it clear that while He was here He was not to judge, but He is coming back, to judge us, or to over see what will happen. We know He is coming back…

But Jesus tells us here clearly in the rest of this verse that it is not about what we have in possessions. Jesus is the first to say, “You can’t take it with you!”

We do not need to make barns to store our abundance and keep things for ourselves when there are others around us in need.

The kids at the VBS at the congregation I serve learned this year that God’s plan is to love us forever and He does that by loving through us. We see God’s love for us and for others, by being the beacon of God’s love in our communities. So love the people around you like God loves you, extravagantly!

If you love like God, then you will be rich beyond your wildest imagination and you will have an abundance!

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
