RSS

ate manna

09 Aug

Then the Jews began to complain about him because he said, “I am the bread that came down from heaven.” They were saying, “Is not this Jesus, the son of Joseph, whose father and mother we know? How can he now say, ‘I have come down from heaven’?” Jesus answered them, “Do not complain among yourselves. No one can come to me unless drawn by the Father who sent me; and I will raise that person up on the last day. It is written in the prophets, ‘And they shall all be taught by God.’ Everyone who has heard and learned from the Father comes to me. Not that anyone has seen the Father except the one who is from God; he has seen the Father. Very truly, I tell you, whoever believes has eternal life. I am the bread of life. Your ancestors ate the manna in the wilderness, and they died. This is the bread that comes down from heaven, so that one may eat of it and not die. I am the living bread that came down from heaven. Whoever eats of this bread will live forever; and the bread that I will give for the life of the world is my flesh.” (John 6:41-51, NRSV)

Your ancestors ate manna in the wilderness and died!

You will all die unless you feast on the bread I give you and that bread is my flesh…

Hard to understand. Hard to accept.

You see Jesus and God are not going to be fit into our boxes so we understand everything that is going on. God’s ways are far above us, and we will not understand it.

That is where faith comes in.

We must take it on faith, and follow where He leads us.

Because they ate manna and died.

And all of us will die the physical death of this life, but then if we believe and trust and have faith in Jesus life will not end.

So that one may eat it and not die!

Jesus is good news and He has come to help us see the way to live and the love to share!

So take and eat, and take and drink and live in God forever!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
