come to bring peace?

Posted: 2015/07/10 in Biblical, Devotional, Discipleship, Pentecost
Tags: , ,

“So have no fear of them; for nothing is covered up that will not be uncovered, and nothing secret that will not become known. What I say to you in the dark, tell in the light; and what you hear whispered, proclaim from the housetops. Do not fear those who kill the body but cannot kill the soul; rather fear him who can destroy both soul and body in hell. Are not two sparrows sold for a penny? Yet not one of them will fall to the ground apart from your Father. And even the hairs of your head are all counted. So do not be afraid; you are of more value than many sparrows. “Everyone therefore who acknowledges me before others, I also will acknowledge before my Father in heaven; but whoever denies me before others, I also will deny before my Father in heaven. “Do not think that I have come to bring peace to the earth; I have not come to bring peace, but a sword. For I have come to set a man against his father, and a daughter against her mother, and a daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law; and one’s foes will be members of one’s own household. Whoever loves father or mother more than me is not worthy of me; and whoever loves son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me; and whoever does not take up the cross and follow me is not worthy of me. Those who find their life will lose it, and those who lose their life for my sake will find it. (Matthew 10:26-39, NRSV)

Do not think I have come to bring peace…

Jesus is our prince of Peace, but here He tells us that he came not to bring peace but a sword.

You see when Jesus enters our lives and we allow Him to have space and our lives are changed, we can be turned against our family. We will see life differently than they do and we may have strife. This is why Jesus comes first, before mother, father, daughter,son,wife, husband. Jesus takes control of our lives and we are changed in ways the world may not get.

And because of that there may be battles.

Jesus does not mean for us to be set against our families, but when He enters and we are changed, sometimes strife is an outcome.

If we take up our cross and follow, He will be with us and even in the midst of strife we will have peace.

Even with the sword we will have peace.

Leave a Reply

