hard to see

Posted: 2015/06/10 in Biblical, Devotional, Discipleship, Pentecost
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

My child, keep your father’s commandment,
and do not forsake your mother’s teaching.
Bind them upon your heart always;
tie them around your neck.
When you walk, they will lead you;
when you lie down, they will watch over you;
and when you awake, they will talk with you.
For the commandment is a lamp and the teaching a light,
and the reproofs of discipline are the way of life,
(Proverbs 6:20-23, NRSV)

As I typed the title for this blog I heard Yoda speaking it.

Hard to see the future is.

Hind sight is 20/20. Which means if I knew then what I know now I would not have done that.

Children do not always see what their parents are doing. I know there were times in m youth when I wondered if my parents really knew what they were doing. I know my kids think that. And the answer is, no they really didn’t know, but they were doing the best they could. Just like me. I did not get an owners manual, (not like I would have read it any way) and there were no new parent classes. God blessed us, and here we are.

So we try to raise our children with the right skills and in the right way so they will grow to be wonderful functioning adults. And sometimes our children just don’t understand.

But always in motion is the future, and if we knew what was going to happen to you we would tell you how to handle it, which still wouldn’t be the right thing, because it is going to happen to you, the kid, and not us, so how we as your parent would react is not how you should react. But listen to your parents teaching and learn from them, because they have been there. And yes they messed it up, even if they won’t tell you, and sometimes they did ok, even when they say it was great.

For their teaching and wisdom is a lamp and a light to help you follow God, and really that is all we really want, for our children to have faith in God and to follow Him.

Leave a Reply

