Children, obey your parents in the Lord, for this is right. “Honor your father and mother”—this is the first commandment with a promise: “so that it may be well with you and you may live long on the earth.” And, fathers, do not provoke your children to anger, but bring them up in the discipline and instruction of the Lord. (Ephesians 6:1-4, NRSV)

Ok when I read this one it hurt a little bit.

For those of you who don’t know, I am a father of 3 beautiful, smart girls.

They are the apples of my eye and I love each of them as much as they need to be loved for their own abilities and talents. No matter what happens or how old they get, all of them will be daddy’s little girl!

But I have a tendency to provoke them. And yes they get angry. And as each of them shows their beauty and wisdom in their own unique way, they always do that with their anger.

And had this pericope stopped at verse 3 I would have been fine, but verse 4 came along for the ride and now fathers are not supposed to provoke their children to anger.

Well all I can say is, I try. I am sorry. I am human and not a perfect father.

My only hope is that I have raised my daughters to know the Lord and to follow Him. I hope that they know that even when I make them mad, or they make me mad, I still love them and no matter what just like God loves me, I love them.

So children obey your parents and fathers do not provoke, but be a guide to your children, the world is hard enough without us causing our children more problems.

And girls (my girls) if you are reading this, daddy loves you and is so proud of the woman you are and are becoming. And always remember that no matter what happens you will always be, my little girl!

Leave a Reply

